International Bromont
Mario Deslauriers
Photo Gallery
 
 
 

Directions
Terminology
Penalty
Ribbons
Types of jumps
Courses
Metric conversion


Directions

From Montreal and Sherbrooke (50 minutes):

Highway 10, exit 78, directions to Bromont

From Quebec City (2 hours 45 minutes):

Highway 20, exit 141, Route 137 via Granby.
Follow directions for Highway 10 toward Sherbrooke. Exit 78, directions to Bromont.

In Bromont:

Follow "de Bromont" boulevard up to Shefford Street and turn right (toward "Vieux Village") . Approximately 1 km later, turn left onto "de Gaspé" road. After 3 km, the Bromont Olympic Horse Park is on your right. For Centre équestre Bromont, turn left on Missisquoi and right on Laprairie.

Click here to view the map


Terminology

Equitation

Only the rider is judged in equitation classes. He or she is judged on style, elegance, efficiency and control of the horse both on the flat and over fences.

Hunter

The hunter horse goes over a course made up of jumps that resemble natural obstacles encountered during a hunt. The horse is required to display power, suppleness, balance and most of all regularity. The rider must not only put on a good performance, but must also show elegance. The winning horse-rider pair will therefore be the one which best displays all these qualities.

Jumper

The jumper horse goes over a course consisting of obstacles that are much more brightly coloured and higher than those in the hunter division. In these competitions, the horse must be confident, powerful, skillful and respect the obstacles. The competitor, for his part, demonstrates the quality of his equitation.

Jump-off

The elimination test, when two or more competitors have successfully completed a clear round over a jumper course. The winner is the rider who finishes the course in the fastest time and with the fewest faults, over a shorter course.

Wrong Course

The trajectory of the competition is pre-determined by the course designer. If a participant jumps an obstacle which does not follow the designated trajectory, or if he omits one, it is a wrong course.

Stride

Measures the distance covered by the horse, a simple stride is on average 12 feet. The distance between the obstacles is based on this equivalence.

Walk the Course

The riders are allowed to walk the course, in the jumper divisions, to study the obstacles up close and measure the strides between the jumps. A horse’s stride on average is the equivalent of four human steps. Walking the course lets the rider evaluate the difficulties of the course.

Clear Round

When a horse and rider, in a jumper class, finish a course without time or obstacle penalties.

Water Jump

A shallow ditch filled with water, with a small fence as a starting point to incite the horse to jump. The width of the water jump can reach 12 to 14 feet.


Penalty

FAULT PENALTY POINTS
First refusal 4 points
Second refusal Elimination
Knock-down of a rail 4 points
Foot touching the water 4 points
Fall of horse and/or rider Elimination
 

Ribbons

RANK COLORS
Champion
Red, blue, white
Reserve champion
Blue, yellow, white
First Red
Second Blue
Third White
Fourth Yellow
Fifth Green
Sixth Pink
Seventh Purple
Eighth Brown
Ninth Orange
Tenth Mauve

 


Type of jumps

What to watch for

The jumps: The general types of jumps used in competition are straight or vertical fences and spread (wide) fences. The degree of difficulty is determined by its height, width, construction and placement in relation to other jumps on the course.

Vertical: This is a straight up and down fence of any height without spread or width to it. Although it looks relatively simple, it is actually one of the most difficult for a horse to jump because there is no baseline on which the horse can focus.

Triple bar: This is a spread fence using three elements of graduating height. It is a relatively easy jump although usually very wide.

Combination: This is a series of fences one or two strides apart. There may be two or three fences involved and they can be of any type. Combinations are very demanding, for if the first element is not jumped correctly, it is difficult in the short space before the next fence to correct the horses’ stride, to clear the rest of the combination. The number of the fences in a combination are marked with the same number followed by the letter of order i.e. 1A,1B,1C, signifying they are all part of a same combination.

Gate: This is a spread fence using three elements of graduating height. It is a relatively easy jump although, usually very wide.

Oxer: This jump consists of two elements in one jump, in order to produce a spread. The parallel oxer, in which the front and back rails are of equal height, is the most difficult to jump because it requires exceptional depth perception by both horse and rider.

Waterjump: A low hedge of fence usually marks the leading edge of the jump althoug it may be placed in the center of the water. The width of the jump, a distance of 12’-16’, makes this a very difficult fence to negotiate. The horse must clear the white tape on the far side of the water or incur jumping faults.


Course

Click here to see examples of course for the 2004 edition of the International Bromont...


Metric Conversion

2'3" - 0.69 m
4'9" - 1.45 m
2'6" - 0.76 m
5'0" - 1.52 m
2'9" - 0.83 m
5'3" - 1.60 m
3'0" - 0.91 m
5'6" - 1.68 m
3'3" - 0.99 m
5'9" - 1.75 m
3'6" - 1.06 m
6'0" - 1.83 m
3'9" - 1.14 m
6'3" - 1.90 m
4'0" - 1.21 m
6'6" - 1.98 m
4'3" - 1.29 m
6'9" - 2.06 m
4'6" - 1.37 m 7'0" - 2.13 m

International Bromont
Mario Deslauriers
Album photos
 
 
 

Directions
Terminologie
Pénalités
Rubans
Types de sauts
Parcours
Équivalences métriques


Directions

De Montréal et de Sherbrooke (50 minutes) :

Autoroute 10, sortie 78, direction Bromont

De Québec (2 h 45 minutes) :

Autoroute 20, sortie 141, route 137 via Granby.
Suivre indications pour autoroute 10 vers Sherbrooke. Sortie 78, direction Bromont

À Bromont :

Avancer sur le boulevard de Bromont jusqu'à la rue Shefford et tourner à droite. Environ 1 km plus loin, tourner à gauche sur le chemin de Gaspé. À 3 km, le Parc équestre Olympique est à droite. Pour le centre équestre, tourner à gauche sur Missisquoi et tout de suite à droite sur Laprairie.

Cliquer ici pour voir la carte


Terminologie

Barrage

Épreuve éliminatoire lorsque deux compétiteurs ou plus ont réussi le parcours sans fautes. Le gagnant est le cavalier qui termine le parcours le plus rapidement et avec le moins de fautes, sur un parcours raccourci. On retrouve les barrages dans les épreuves de sauteurs.

Chasseur

Le cheval de chasse évolue sur un parcours d’obstacles qui ressemble aux obstacles naturels rencontrés à la chasse. Au cheval, on demande puissance, souplesse, équilibre et surtout régularité. Du cavalier, on recherche la performance et l’élégance. Le couple cavalier-cheval gagnant est celui qui possède le mieux toutes ces qualités.

Équitation

Seul le cavalier est jugé dans les épreuves d’équitation. Il est jugé sur le style, l’élégance, l’efficacité et la maîtrise du cheval, et ce, tant sur le terrain plat que dans les sauts d’obstacles.

Erreur de parcours

Les tracés de compétition sont préétablis par le dessinateur de parcours. Si un participant franchit un obstacle hors de l’ordre du tracé, ou s’il en oublie un, il y a erreur de parcours.

Foulée

Mesure de distance parcourue par le cheval; une simple foulée équivaut en moyenne à 12 pieds. Les distances entre les obstacles sont calculées à partir de cette équivalence.

Marcher le parcours

Les cavaliers ont la permission de marcher le parcours, dans les divisions de sauteur, pour étudier de près les obstacles et mesurer les foulées entre les obstacles. Une foulée de cheval équivaut en moyenne à quatre enjambées humaines. Marcher le parcours permet au cavalier d’évaluer les difficultés du parcours.

Parcours sans faute

Il y a parcours sans faute lorsqu’un cavalier et sa monture, dans une classe de sauteur, terminent un parcours sans pénalité de temps ni d’obstacles.

Rivière

Petit fossé rempli d’eau; une petite barrière indique l’endroit où il faut encourager le cheval à sauter. La largeur de la rivière peut atteindre 12 à 14 pieds.

Sauteur

Le cheval sauteur évolue également sur un parcours d’obstacles de couleurs vives et plus élevés qu’en chasseur. Ces épreuves sont destinées à démontrer, chez le cheval, sa franchise, sa puissance, son adresse et son respect de l’obstacle; chez le concurrent, ces épreuves démontrent la qualité de son équitation.


Pénalités

FAUTE POINTS DE PÉNALISATION
1re désobéissance 4 points
2e désobéissance Élimination
Obstacle renversé 4 points
Un pied dans l’eau 4 points
Chute du cheval et/ou du cavalier Élimination
 

Rubans

RANG COULEURS
Champion
Rouge, bleu, blanc
Champion réserve
Bleu, jaune, blanc
Première Rouge
Deuxième Bleu
Troisième Blanc
Quatrième Jaune
Cinquième Vert
Sixième Rose
Septième Violet
Huitième Brun
Neuvième Orange
Dixième Mauve
 

Types de sauts

Ce qu'il faut remarquer

Les obstacles : Le genre d’obstacles utilisés le plus fréquemment en compétition sont les verticaux et les obstacles en largeur. Le degré de difficulté est déterminé par sa hauteur, sa largeur, sa construction et son emplacement en relation avec les autres obstacles sur le parcours.

Vertical : Cet obstacle est droit et de hauteur variable, sans facteur de largeur. En apparence, cet obstacle semble simple, mais il est l’ un des obstacles les plus difficiles pour le cheval à cause de l’absence de ligne de base où le cheval prend son point de référence.

SPA / triple bar : Ceci est un obstacle de largeur qui utilise trois éléments en hauteur croissante. Un tel obstacle est relativement simple. Par contre, il est habituellement très large.

Combinaison : Cette série d’obstacles comprend une ou deux foulées entre chaque élément. Il peut y avoir deux ou trois sauts différents alignés. Les combinaisons sont très exigeantes. Si le premier obstacle n’est pas franchi correctement, il devient difficile de corriger les pas du cheval dans un espace limité précédant un obstacle et, par la suite, de terminer la combinaison sans échec. Les numéros des obstacles dans une combinaison sont indiqués par le même chiffre suivi de lettres en ordre alphabétique, tels que 1A, 1B, 1C, signifiant qu’ils appartiennent tous à la même combinaison.

Barrière : Cet obstacle vertical d’apparence solide et imposant utilise des planches, des balustrades, des clôtures ou des branches de cèdre.

Oxer : Cet obstacle est constitué de deux éléments afin de créer un effet de largeur. L’oxer parallèle, où la barre avant est de la même hauteur que la barre arrière, est l’obstacle le plus difficile à sauter puisqu’il exige une perception de profondeur exceptionnelle de la part du cavalier et de son cheval.

La rivière : Une petite haie démarque habituellement le bord de l’obstacle. Par contre, celui-ci peut aussi être placé au centre de l’eau. La largeur de cet obstacle d’une distance de 12 à 16 pouces fait en sorte que cet élément du parcours est difficile à négocier. Le cheval doit atterrir de l’autre côté du ruban blanc placé à l’extrémité de l’eau, sinon des fautes d’obstacles sont ajoutées.


Parcours

Cliquez ici pour visualiser certains parcours dessinés pour l'édition 2004 de l'International Bromont...


Équivalences métriques

2'3" - 0.69 m
4'9" - 1.45 m
2'6" - 0.76 m
5'0" - 1.52 m
2'9" - 0.83 m
5'3" - 1.60 m
3'0" - 0.91 m
5'6" - 1.68 m
3'3" - 0.99 m
5'9" - 1.75 m
3'6" - 1.06 m
6'0" - 1.83 m
3'9" - 1.14 m
6'3" - 1.90 m
4'0" - 1.21 m
6'6" - 1.98 m
4'3" - 1.29 m
6'9" - 2.06 m
4'6" - 1.37 m 7'0" - 2.13 m